Chief investigator

Dr Alberto Peruzzo

Vice Chancellor and DECRA Senior Research Fellow, School of Engineering, RMIT University
Senior Lecturer, DVC and DECRA Research Fellow, School of Physics, University of Sydney
Royal Academy of Engineering Research Fellow, joint Engineering-Physics, University of Bristol
Ph.D. in Physics,University of Bristol
Master degree in Computer Engineering, University of Padova
Bachelor degree in Computer Engineering, University of Padova
Project Manager Junior in pharmaceutical and chemical plants design
Email: alberto.peruzzo at

RMIT Staff profile  |  Google Scholar  |  ORCID  |  ResearcherID


Dr Andreas Boes

Andy finished his PhD at RMIT University (Australia) in 2016, completing his thesis on domain engineering lithium niobate crystals for photonic and phononic applications. He joined the newly formed Quantum Photonics Lab at RMIT University in November 2015 and started his postdoctoral position within the group. His research interests include quantum light sources, integrated optics and micro fabrication.

PhD students

Robert Chapman

Robert finished his Master in Science at the University of Bristol (UK) in 2013, completing his Thesis on quantum photonic device control with the Centre for Quantum Photonics. He joined the newly formed Quantum Photonics Lab at the University of Sydney in November 2013 and started his Ph.D. with the group in July 2014. His research interests include quantum information, quantum simulation and photonics.


Jean-Luc Tambasco

Jean-Luc is an electrical engineer who received his degree from RMIT In 2012. He is currently doing his PhD in integrated quantum optics. Originally from photonics, he joined the Quantum Photonics Lab at RMIT University in 2015. His research interests include integrated optics, nonlinear optics and photon sources.

Akib Karim

Akib completed a Bachelor of Science (Advanced) degree with a Physics and Chemistry double major in 2014. He is currently undertaking honours in Quantum Photonics with the ultimate aim of moving to a PhD. His research interests include Foundations of Quantum Mechanics, Quantum Information Theory, Quantum Simulation and Photonics.


Inna Krasnokutska

Inna completed her Master in Nanomaterial Physics (Ukraine) in 2011 and Master in Optics at the University Nice Sophia Antipolis in 2013. Her research interests include quantum optics, quantum computing and photonics.

Giacomo Pantaleoni

Giacomo completed his Bachelor and Master degrees in Physics at the University of Padova (Italy). On his thesis, in 2016, he worked alongside the “Quantum Future” group on satellite quantum communications. After graduating he continued working in Padova with the same group on a further research collaboration, focusing on relativistic effects on quantum communications in space.

Zixin Huang

Email: zhua8897 at

Internship students

Sulien Rigby

Sulien is due to complete his Bachelors degree of Engineering/Computer Science at the end of 2017. Interested in the foundations of quantum mechanics, micro-controller design and implementation, and network security.

Email: s3436413 at

Research staff

Cameron Hamilton

Cameron is currently employed by the Quantum Photonics Laboratory after studying with RMIT for both Bachelor of Engineering – Electronics and Communications (Hons.), and Advanced Diploma of Electronics and Communications. He is excited by all things engineering, and interests include Audio, Biomedical, and Embedded engineering.

Email: s3383229 at

Former group members

Daniel Naoumenko (Honours 2015)

Frank Paino (Honours 2015)

Angus Johnson (Talented student program 2015 @ QPL)

Kehuan Shi (Talented student program 2014 @ QPL, School of Physics summer scholarship 2014, and Senior year Special project 2015)

Owen Brasier (Research staff 2014-2015)

Alex Hung (Talented student program 2014 @ QPL and School of Physics summer scholarship 2014)

David Merrick Long (Talented student program 2014 @ QPL)

Ryan Thomas (Talented student program 2014 @ QPL)